FLDS Hail Mary: Petition for Extraordinary Writ and Willie Affidavit

Picture 20
Willie Jessop supreme pic1

~ by FLDS TEXAS on October 20, 2009.

30 Responses to “FLDS Hail Mary: Petition for Extraordinary Writ and Willie Affidavit”

  1. I especially liked the long, totally unsubstantiated rant from Willie Jessop.

  2. can you say “we haven’t thrown enough money down the toilet, let’s throw some more.”

  3. I love this idea. I’m going to try it.

    I’m going to stop paying my mortgage and property taxes and when the lender or IRS try to foreclose, I”m going to say that I was planning on making this home a sacred temple some day …. and it’s really really special and important to me and they better not sell my house (just because I’m not paying for it) because I’ll be really mad if they do.

    Oh, and instead of paying my mortgage to prevent foreclosure, I’m going to pay a bunch of lawyers to fight for my right to live in this house forever without paying for it because it’s sacred to me.

    Think that will work?

  4. Oh, I forgot to say … if they do sell it, they better not sell it to someone I don’t like or I’ll sue them again for hurting my feelings.

  5. Well said, FLDS TEXAS.

  6. like i said, they think if they throw enough money at the problem it will go away.

  7. I kinda hope the SCOU takes it on and the Warren Jeffs Discovery gets to be drug up the hill for all to see.

    Its about time the state got educated on their evil ways – they have enabled them for far too long!

  8. I have to admit that I was unable to read and interpret this document so my comments are fully uninformed. After scanning through it I returned to the top to look at the litigant list and find that it is three lawyers on behalf of the church. So my question is who or what is the church? Is there a list of congregants in good standing and a procedure by which the congregants in good standing are determined and by which one may appeal? Is there a document indicating who speaks legally for the congregants and authorizes such a lawsuit?
    From the previous reading on this topic it is not at all clear to me who is the church? Is it those at YFZ since the prophet disavowed all of short creek area? Does it include those who have been exiled involuntarily and without appeal?
    It seems to me that the first issue to be resolved in any such lawsuit would be to determine who speaks for the church as a legal entity and who are the members of the church as a legal entity.

  9. HHG

    There is a great post by Blues, no there is no list of litigants, its a moving morphing thing.

    Warren in his dictations says there is a “Great Falling Away”

    But I think it is HE who did the falling away as much as anyone else.

    And most of those 10000 are women and children, who arent allowed to make any decisions for themselves.

    Kinda like white slaves, yanno.

  10. I was unable to fully read the document cause I can only take so much crazy in one bite.

  11. How can any of it be “sacred” when their prophet said it was “rejected of God”?

  12. Rebeckah, they are hoping that no one will notice. I think Jessop’s whole rant is for the benefit of the Short Creekers so that they will blame their economic woes on Wisan and not on the fact that the leaders first drained them to finance YFZ and now are draining them to finance legal fees.

  13. At first I was right certain that read “extraordinary wit”.

    Then I doubled back for a closer look and figured out that part only referred to FLDS TEXAS.

  14. If I didn’t think he was serious, I’d give ol’ Duane the “extraordinary wit” award for his reference to the “temple gurney.” I still can’t get over that one.

  15. I can’t read it either, and I can usually read anything. Must be the cold meds.

    But I did see various mentions of the Utah Constitution. If we’re going to talk about that document, why not talk about its ban on polygamy, which was upheld by the Utah Supreme Court just a few short years ago?

  16. Rod Parker made such a big point about Shortcreek being the “Gathering place” and that its “Sacred land”..

    But the current imprisoned Prophet said Shortcreek was “Rejected of God, and all who remain there are rejected of God too”..

    So I’m confused, who is correct?

    The Attorney or the Prophet?

    And if you actually read the entire thing, where they claim Berry Knoll is a prophecied Temple site, we offer you prima facie evidence the current prophet didnt think so.

    He built it hundreds of miles away.

    Without any recorded prophecy from anyone, beside simply his whim.

    ALSO IRT Willies affydavid

    In the same prophesy Joseph Musser gave that there would be a Temple on Berry Knoll, he said the farm would give 10 times the food stuff as the best farm in Davis County.

    Is alfalfa “food stuff”, and have they ever gotten 10 times the yeild?

    I hear Berry Knoll Farm its a sand dune now. So much for those pesky false prophesies.

    Does this mean the general public gets to make up their own prophesies too?

  17. OK, I gotta ask… what is the relevance of a bowdlerized version of a famous LDS hymn as evidence in a writ? Are we supposed to understand that they’ve been shaking the church rafters with this version ever since Mr. Musser had his revelation?

    For that matter, “revelation” seems a bit exaggerated if you go by the attached diary entry, which is actually mainly concerned with the transition of power in Short Creek. Jessop (not Musser) said that Berry Knoll was intended to be the temple site, and Musser wanted to stand on it. He then commented that when the drought ended (as all droughts do) it would be a “delightful place to build a temple.”

    It sounds less like a prophetic word from God than an anecdote about an old man being helped up a hill to a future building site and remarking upon the view.

  18. OK, I gotta ask… what is the relevance of a bowdlerized version of a famous LDS hymn as evidence in a writ? Are we supposed to understand that they’ve been shaking the church rafters with this version ever since Mr. Musser had his revelation?

    Well, if you’re going to write, at least write to your audience. While I think this whole “extraordinary” writ request lacks substance, I’d totally write it off if it were any state other than Utah.

    Despite how some may see it as cynical or manipulative, advocacy is finding something that may help your client. Even if it is using a Mormon sense of persecution to advance you case.

    This whole process is designed to “appeal” to the particular Mormon sense of persecution. I think that’s why they filed it in the Utah supreme court rather than some Federal district court. By filing it in the Utah SC, they’ve totally limited their appeals. So, the relevant question is “why?”

    The only answer is to seek to establish a case of religious persecution to a body that perceives itself as having been persecuted. If you ask me, they have chosen a very calculated strategy.

  19. Ron,

    I think this will fall flat on its face so hard it bounces.

    The Supreme Court cant hand this trust over, they will be excoriated. The state would become an even bigger laughing stock.

    LDS inc. would never live it dowm and they havent had anything to do with it (besides enable it through the back door).

    I see it as the FLDS boldly laying their head on the chopping block and saying “I double dare ya”.

    Well, it wont be the FIRST “OOOPS moment” in FLDS history.

  20. Ron, that might be true, but the same Utah Supreme Court upheld the constitutional ban on polygamy, so I’m slightly more sanguine than you. (Bearing in mind that there’s many a slip ‘twixt the cup and the lip.)

    Are the evidence rules for such an ‘extraordinary writ’ different from other pleadings? Is the photocopied sheet music valid unless the reader can actually see the cello-taped edges where the new text covers the original lyrics?

  21. I dont GET it! My husband Pratt says the FLDS dont think Joseph Mussers a prophet so how come the lawyers are using his stuff about the temple at Beery Knoll farm?? Uncle Jessops diary sounds like they were having trouble back then about who was right in the priesthood council – anyways thats what Pratt says!
    Blessings from HoneyDawn

  22. How could I forget?! Lyman Jessop is also an apostate according to the FLDS.

  23. Who’s Lyman Jessop?

  24. Something we need to keep on mind is that the FLDS never owned the trust or the property in it. The FLDS never owned Berry Knoll. The lands were owned by individuals who donated it to the Trust. The Supreme Court cannot “give it back” to the FLDS because the FLDS didn’t own it in the first place.

  25. Joseph Lyman Jessop went by Lyman. His journal is used in the second PDF that you have shown. So, you have Ben Bistline, Joseph Lyman Jessop, and Joseph Musser all considered apostate (and BTW, my grandfather lost his family posthumously–so this goofiness has no end)–now all three of these apostates are being used as a source.

  26. Honey Dawn,, maybe you should learn to think for yourself and not only listen to your husband. You have a brain in there somewhere!
    Learn to think for yourself, and then learn to spell.

  27. cement,

    Didn’t Joseph Lymon Jessop go with what became the AUB when Allred and the others split?

  28. Lyman Jessop was one of the sons of Joseph Smith Jessop who was an original settler of Short Creek.

    You may have seen photos of Joseph Smith Jessop taken during the 1953 raid on Short Creek. He is the VERY old looking man seen holding a little girl. (Probably his daughter)

    Joseph Smith Jessop was the father of Lyman Jessop, Richard Jessop (Uncle Rich) and Fred Jessop (Uncle Fred) among others.

    Lyman left Short Creek when they were trying to start the UEP trust because he didn’t think the idea of living the United Order would work or be fair. He didn’t want to consecrate his land to a communal trust.

    Lyman had married Beth Allred, a sister of Rulon and Owen Allred and he joined the Allred group when he left the Short Creek group.

    Lyman’s son, Edson Jessop, Sr. remained in Short Creek and stayed with that group. He is the father of Edson Jessop. Jr.

    Back then, family members who left the Short Creek group were still allowed to have contact with their children and Lyman did occasionally go back to the Creek to visit his son, Edson.

  29. actually, I think Honey Dawn has a point.

  30. Thanks, Anonymous at 2:45 pm.

    Joseph Lyman Jessop was right about the trust not being a workable fair deal for everyone.

    I’ve seen the photo you’re referring to and read the magazine article about Edson Porter Jessop, Sr.

Leave a Reply

 
